Student Activities

CCC Student Clubs & Organizations

Students interested in joining an existing club, or starting a new club, should stop by the Office of Student Activities, Room 707, or contact Derrick Curry, Director of Student Activities, at (860) 906-5087 or dcurry@capitalcc.edu.

Student Senate

The Capital Community College Student Senate represents all students in order to enhance the Capital experience within the college and the community, through research, legislation, and advocacy. Its primary purpose is to serve as the voice of the student body to the Capital Community College administration, and other constituents concerned with the institution. The Student Senate establishes student body policies through legislation that is later implemented by the Student Body President and his or her executive branch.

Advisor: Waynette Arnum, (860) 906-5047, warnum@capitalcc.edu

Black Student Union (BSU)

The purpose of the BSU is to promote unity and harmony among students of color with all other students, staff, faculty, administration and the greater community. The BSU seeks to enhance cultural diversity among students, and organizes social and educational activities.

Advisor: Marcus Lawson, (860) 906-5047, mlawson@captialcc.edu

Bible Club

The Bible Club welcomes any students who embrace the Christian faith, subscribe to its doctrine and accept as truth its religious tenets and teachings.

Advisor: TBD

Capital Community College Cyber Command (C5)

The main goal of C5 is provide students with the training and tools needed to compete in national and regional cybersecurity competitions. C5 members will work with various businesses and partners to research and mitigate real world cybersecurity challenges.

Advisor: Wayne Boyko, (860) 906-5209, wboyko@capitalcc.edu

Advisor: Saaid Elhadad, (860) 906-5135, selhadad@capitalcc.edu

Early Childhood Education Club (ECEC)

The ECEC exists to facilitate students’ professional development through participation in a variety of early childhood activities at the local, state and national levels.

Advisor: Dr. Marsha Guillory Bryant, (860) 906-5236, mguillorybryant@capitalcc.edu

Anime Club

The Anime Club provides a fun and comfortable environment for gamers, “nerds” and anime and manga fanatics. Based on a mutual passion for these activities, the club’s goal is to raise money to attend conventions and host gaming tournaments.

Advisor: TBD

Muslim Student Association

The Muslim Student Association’s purpose is to promote friendly relationships between Muslim and non-Muslim students, to inform people of other faiths and cultures about Islam, and to encourage brotherly bonds among college students and the community.

Advisor: TBD

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK)

PTK is an internationally acclaimed honor society recognizing the academic achievement of associate degree students. The purpose of Capital’s chapter is to promote scholarship, develop leadership and service and cultivate fellowship among qualified students. To be eligible for an invitation to join, a student must be currently enrolled, have accumulated 12 semester hours earned at CCC, have achieved a minimum GPA of 3.5 and adhere to the college code of conduct.

Advisor: Roxanne Plummer, (860) 906-5089, rplummer@capitalcc.edu

Advidor: Michael Ligon: (860) 906-5178, mligon@capitalcc.edu

PRIDE (People Respecting Individual Diversity Everywhere)

The purpose of PRIDE is to support gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, questioning, intersex and straight students on campus, organize and promote social activities, and educate members and others on campus about GLBTQI issues. All personal issues discussed during meetings, including members’ names and sexual orientation, shall be strictly confidential. No member shall discuss personal information regarding any member, advisor or associate, with non-members or in the presence of non-members.

Advisor: Helena Carrasquillo, (860) 906-5204, hcarrasquillo@capitalcc.edu

LASA (Latin American Student Association)

The purpose of LASA is to promote interest in and celebrate the study of the Spanish language and Latin culture.

Interim Advisor: Jeanette Rivera, (860) 906-5080, jrivera@capitalcc.edu

Advisor: Marisol Malave, (860) 906-5051, mmalave@capitalcc.edu

Veterans Club (VETS: Veterans Empowering Themselves to Succeed)

The purpose of VETS is to assist Capital Community College veterans and their dependents in networking, and to serve as a liaison for the veterans community outside the college.

Advisor: Margaret Abraham, (860) 906-5044, mabraham@capitalcc.edu

Social Service Club

The Social Service Club is a student led organization designed to increase awareness of social issues within the college and the wider community. It provides opportunities for students to gain knowledge about the social work major and issues related to the profession of social work. The Club recognizes the needs of CCC students and through the Capital Cares Food Pantry strives to bridge those needs. Furthermore, the Club offers volunteer opportunities, leadership experiences, career exploration and fellowship with students and faculty.

Interim Advisor: Michelle White, (860) 906-5104, mwhite@capitalcc.edu

Chess Club

The purpose of this club it to bring together chess players at the college and in the Greater Hartford community to share their interest in chess and to promote an understanding of the game for its own sake – as an art and as an intellectual sport. For competitive-minded members, the club provides an organized chess tournament venue. Membership in the Chess Club is open to any person with an interest in chess, regardless of his/her experience or playing ability.

Advisor: Bujar Konjusha, (860) 906-6431, bkonjusha@capitalcc.edu

National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS)

NSLS is an organization where like-minded, success-oriented students come together and help one another succeed. Life-changing video lectures from prominent successful people are presented. The Society also serves as a powerful force for good in the greater community by encouraging community service to better the world.

Advisor: Linda Domenitz, (860) 906-5108, ldomenitz@capitalcc.edu

M.A.L.E.S. (Men Achieving Leadership Excellence & Success)

M.A.L.E.S. aim to develop the leadership qualities and communication skills of Capital Community College men. Members create programs and activities that will benefit the college and its student body, and strive to act as support for community service projects and other events presented by already-established organizations on campus.

Advisor: Derrick Curry, (860) 906-5087, dcurry@capitalcc.edu

International Club (IC)

IC’s purpose is to increase social interaction between International and American students at Capital, to create an appreciation for the International students at the college, and to facilitate a better understanding between all. Towards that end, the club provides social and cultural activities to bring everyone together.

Advisor: Jacqueline Bedward, (860) 906-6000, jbedward@capitalcc.edu

Capital Student News (CSN)

Capital Student News serves as a journalism venture exposing students to the exciting world of media. CSN makes it their goal to inform and engage the community of current events, campus news and controversial topics. As one of the most diverse student bodies in the region, we provide thought provoking stories on several platforms such as online/social media and video that will be produced and published here at the college. We serve to give students an entry level experience into the world of communication media.

Advisor: Jennifer Thomassen, (860) 906-5016, jthomassen@capitalcc.edu